Monday, July 22, 2024

Top 5 This Week


Related Posts

Appointment is not a privilege, Hajiji told PPM

Hajiji witnessing the oath taking ceremony by 14 new PPM at Menara Kinabalu, Wednesday.

KOTA KINABALU: Chief Minister Datuk Hajiji Haji Noor wants all Community Development Leaders (PPM) to deliver the best service possible to constituents in their respective areas.

“You have a vital role and immense responsibility. This appointment is not a privilege. I want you to always work closely with your elected representative in servicing the constituents.

 “We do not want to see any of you doing things at your whims and fancy, but you must discharge your responsibility diligently,” he said after witnessing the oath-taking ceremony by 14 new PPM at Menara Kinabalu near here Wednesday.

The Chief Minister said the function of the PPM is to provide a clear picture of the government’s policies, particularly developments carried out in the past two and a half years to the grassroots.

“PPMs must explain to the people the government development plans, especially the Hala Tuju Sabah Maju Jaya,” he said.

Hajiji said it was also imperative for everyone to work together as the State Government strives to eliminate poverty in Sabah. 

With about two more years to go before the current State Government’s term expires, the PPM is in the position to serve the people and, in the process, help their respective elected representative to regain the seat in the coming State elections, he said. 

The fourteen PPMs taking their oath before the Chief Minister today were Abd Rashid Saidin (UPPM HQ), Muhammad Tasan (Bengkoka), Sharif Kadah Sharif Osman (Bandau), Saikom Watis (Kadamaian), Rosita Ganggang (Inanam), Alex Tan Liang Boon (Likas), Lee Li Mei (Api-Api), Chin Thau Kwong (Luyang), Shamsur Zulkifli (Petagas), Cyril Gerald Liew (Kapayan), Ana Maria Bernadus (Limbahau), Max Million Lee Yun Vui (Tanjung Papat), Juslee Arpaih (Sukau) and Mohamad Latip Katik (Kunak). 

Also present were Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Christina Liew, State Secretary Datuk Seri Panglima Sr Safar Untong, Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister Datuk Nizam Abu Bakar Titingan and Datuk Abidin Madingkir, and Community Development Leader Unit (UPPM) Director Datuk Awang Kadin Tang.

Popular Articles